Products: Temporal vs. Stored Value

This is a small piece of a larger puzzle on product design practices. It is mostly unformed, and will be updated accordingly.

Products can be designed to leverage either temporal value, stored value, or a mix of both.

Facebook: A content feed is an example of temporal value. The content in it has value upon being posted, and that value drops over time by virtue of its datedness and its increasing inaccessibility (hidden under the growing pile of newer content).

Google: A search engine is an example of stored value. Every site that’s added to the search index increases the search engine’s total value.

Airbnb: A marketplace is an example that must leverage both. The more listings it has, the greater the value of the marketplace, but only if the supply of those listings accurately matches demand.

 
8
Kudos
 
8
Kudos

Now read this

Lessons learned through the lens: an incomplete index of insights from my decade in photography

I’ve chosen to publish the lessons I learned that have universal applicability. I’ve left the photography tips out ;) 1. We are born blind I had been shooting for 6 months, 5 days a week, every week, and one day I was at the cinema. I... Continue →